Is it economical to purchase a hybrid car.

Is it economical to purchase a hybrid car.

Postby Fureutipt » Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:45 pm

I have noticed that the hybrid cars cost $10,000 to $12,000 more for the same style car that is gasoline powered. I can not find out any information that compares the maintainence cost mile for mile of the different types of cars. I do not qualify for the tax rebate to purchase a hybrid. So am I saving money or not if I buy one?
Fureutipt

Re: Is it economical to purchase a hybrid car. it may cost a lot to buy one of

Postby SaschVolkin » Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:30 pm

it may cost a lot to buy one of those, but honeslty u save a lot in gas i'll tell you that. I no ur saving a lot on other things but im not a mechanic or a car dealer so i can't give you all that info but i mean idk the number for the gas but i no thats its high, my cousin who bought one said that he can drive for 3 days like 6 hrs straight and he doesn't go past the first line after the F. so i no its expensive but if u really want them than save cause its worth it. And ur helping towards global warming. thats a plus to...

hope u like it
SaschVolkin

Re: Is it economical to purchase a hybrid car. Check the price of the battery-

Postby seksegzotyczne » Mon Jun 22, 2009 2:03 am

Check the price of the battery- i was an electircal engineer on a submarine I know batteries very well. I cant see them lasting longer than 7 years and they will have to be replace. also battery charge discharge efficency drops considerably when temperature departs from 80F (cold more so then hot).