How easy or hard is it to change Wheel Bearings on Fiat Punto.

How easy or hard is it to change Wheel Bearings on Fiat Punto.

Postby RobetMarker44 » Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:26 am

The bearings on the front wheels of my Fiat Punto need changing and the local garage is backed up for weeks (they've had my Ducato motor home since November). Can anyone talk me (well hubby really) through how to do it?
RobetMarker44

Re: How easy or hard is it to change Wheel Bearings on Fiat Punto. is he good with spanners? easy

Postby hrebghefew » Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:28 pm

is he good with spanners?

easy realy well i would say that i am a mechanic!

it is a little coplex to put on this page e mail me then i will give you step by step info

withieringtonkeith@yahoo.co.uk
hrebghefew

Re: How easy or hard is it to change Wheel Bearings on Fiat Punto. Not difficult to do but you wil

Postby Fssd » Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:09 am

RobetMarker44 wrote:The bearings on the front wheels of my Fiat Punto need changing and the local garage is backed up for weeks (they've had my Ducato motor home since November). Can anyone talk me (well hubby really) through how to do it?

Not difficult to do but you will need a torque wrench, a good socket set and a free couple of hours!

Take off wheel and remove hub centre cap and undo the nut (very tight)! Somone will need to be in the car to apply brakes and make sure car is in high gear! Once the nut is off the bearing should be visible - remove it! Apply good quality high melting point grease to the new bearing and fit! Replace the nut and tighten to the specified torque using the torque wrench! Put wheel back on and move to the next!

Make sure you TIGHTEN TO SPECIFIED TORQUE SETTING!

Should be about it!
Fssd

Re: How easy or hard is it to change Wheel Bearings on Fiat Punto. That is not realy a job for an

Postby suupersvintus » Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:26 am